Faculty present honors to HS students

High School faculty closed the academic year with a special tribute to seniors and recognition of students during the annual award ceremony on Tuesday, May 17.
The following awards and honors were bestowed during the High School’s annual award ceremony: 

National Merit Finalists: Kaya Booth '22, Latham Hall '22, Michael Kim '22, Greta Li '22, Arnav Reddy '22, Nandan Sarkar '22, Jude Warren '22, Elena Wierich '22

Lois McMullan Scholarship: Edward Crane ’23, Kara Grace Hess ’23, Gabby White ’23, and Sheerea Yu ’23
This scholarship is awarded to a select group of juniors who have demonstrated leadership in various areas of High School life and have a high potential for leading the school community during their senior year. 

Peggy Weil Steine ’37 Visual Arts Award: Elise Brown ’22
This honor is given to a graduating senior who has demonstrated consistent excellence in various elements of the visual arts program. 

Outstanding Senior Award: Jadyn Sheats ’22, Jordan Turner ’22, Abigail Schoenecker ’22, Adeolu Ajayi ’22
This honor is given to seniors who have made a substantive impact on the USN community. 

Faculty Award: Emanoeel Ghabrial ’22, Tate Keuler ’22
An honor given to a senior who exemplifies the ideal USN student: cooperative, consistent in academic performance, sensitive to peers, willing to work with others, accepting of responsibility, eager to give to the school and the larger community, and involved in activities. 

Tigers of the Year: Morayo Kassim ’22, Lia Payne ’22, Russ Petty ’22
Selected by coaches, seniors are given this award for their contributions to the USN athletic program throughout their High School careers. 

Bredesen Leadership Award: Lia Payne ’22
This honor is given to seniors whose leadership on campus has most supported others in the school community and whose involvement in and commitment to the school community serves as a model for younger students. 

Harry and Mary Zimmerman Memorial Award: Greta Matthies ’22
This honor recognizes the senior who most exemplifies the concern for others, the gentleness of spirit, the leadership by example, and the devotion to USN that characterized the lives and work of Harry and Mary Zimmerman. 

Stanford Moore Memorial Award for Excellence: Greta Li ’22
This honor is given to a senior who typifies the pursuit of excellence represented by Nobel Prize laureate and Peabody Demonstration School alumnus Stanford Moore ’31. The recipient “approaches Dr. Moore’s academic achievement and dedication. In the century of the common man, the uncommon man and his accomplishments are too often overlooked. Recognition of the uncommon man is needed and an incentive to excellence is highly desirable.”
    • Head of High School Quinton Walker, Greta Li '22, and Director Vince Durnan pause for celebration after Greta receives an award.

More USN News

List of 5 news stories.


University School of Nashville

2000 Edgehill Avenue   Nashville, TN 37212     615/321-8000     Contact Us