Cum Laude Society welcomes 24 seniors

Alex Jahangir, the head of Nashville’s COVID-19 task force and Metro Board of Health chair, spoke to students inducted into the Cum Laude Society, which recognizes members of the graduating class who have distinguished themselves for academic excellence.
By Sierra Smith, Communications Specialist

Twenty-four students were inducted into the Cum Laude Society on Thursday, October 7. The keynote speaker was orthopaedic trauma surgeon and leader in Nashville’s response to the coronavirus, Alex Jahangir.
A national organization begun in 1906, the Cum Laude Society recognizes students who have distinguished themselves for academic excellence. The society makes clear academic excellence does not refer only to superior scholarly achievement but also to the qualities of dignity and honor in pursuit of those achievements. The Cum Laude Society’s motto, “Areté, Diké, Timé,” means “excellence, justice, and honor.”
Class of 2022 honorees are:
Adeolu Oluwaseun Ajayi
Josefina Lynn Aronoff
Kaya Leigh Booth
Nia Aralyn Chetkovich
Isaac Erickson Chomsky
Caroline Grace Cramer
Sydney Rebekkah Emeson
Emanoeel Samy Ghabrial
William Walker Grobmyer
Latham Poulson Hall
Laura Peyton Harris
Eden Ruth Horton
Tate Blair Keuler
Acadia Louise LeQuire
Greta Xicai Li
Piers German Mason
Greta Nicole Matthies 
Lia Clare Payne
Arnav Voncha Reddy
Nandan Sarkar
Abigail Schoenecker
Wesley August Smail 
Elena Annika Wierich 
Emilia Grace Zenker

"In reading our inductees' reflections on their learning and scholarship, I was struck by our students' gratitude for each other — for the ways they hold each other to high standards of learning and engagement, of pushing each other to be better students and participants and learners. They are curious and want to understand why; they want to make change in the world," English Department Chair and Cum Laude Chapter Secretary Freya Sachs shared. 
    • Class of 2022 Cum Laude Society inductees

More USN News

List of 5 news stories.

  • Lower School Naturalist Teacher Lauren Hagan jumps off a rock at Midnight Hole.

    Opt outside this summer

    Lower School Naturalist Teacher Lauren Hagan offers families options for enjoying the outdoors while away from 2000 Edgehill for June, July, and early-August.
    Read More
  • Second grade peers into the water hoping to spot fish on a Forest Day adventure.

    A year of adventure

    With final Forest Days and fourth grade's capstone, kayaking adventure in the books, Lower School Naturalist Teacher Lauren Hagan takes a look back at year of soul-awakening time spent outdoors and in wonder. Continue reading for a glimpse at all the Young Naturalist Program entailed this academic year.
    Read More
  • Clockwise from top left: the Durnan family in the Edgehill Lobby; the new plaque unveiled in the Durnan Auditorium; Director Vince Durnan reflects during the Sunday, May 15 reception;  Avery Durnan Akkineni ’07 and Julia Durnan ’11 honor their dad; Former Board President David Kloeppel announces 90 new gifts to the Vincent W. Durnan Jr. Endowed Scholarship.

    Board announces Durnan Auditorium, scholarship gifts

    During a reception to honor outgoing Director Vince Durnan, the Board of Trustees presented him with a proclamation, shared $1.5 million in new gifts have been added to the need-based scholarship endowment named in his honor, and christened the heart of the school the Durnan Auditorium.
    Read More
  • USN Archives launches new exhibit

    The University School of Nashville Archives opened a new digital exhibit featuring highlights from the school's yearbook collection from 1920–1980. View "Yearbooks Through the Years" now.
    Read More
  • Students pass through the Hassenfeld Library.

    Adventure awaits between pages

    The English Department has shared the summer reading lists for rising grades 5-12 and AP courses. Visit to view suggested books.
    Read More

University School of Nashville

2000 Edgehill Avenue   Nashville, TN 37212     615/321-8000     Contact Us