Faculty honor HS standouts

High Schools closed the school year with a special tribute to seniors and recognition of students during the annual Awards Assembly.
During the High School Awards Assembly on Wednesday, May 15, High School faculty bestowed the following awards and honors:

Cum Laude Society: Bella Barocas ’19, Rachel Becker ’19, Amanda Ding ’19, Jolie Diskin ’19, Olivia Dossett ’19, Ittai Eden ’19, Annie French, Haley Harris ’19, Clayton Jelsma, Shriya Karam ’19, Cam Kloeppel ’19, Hannah Laibinis ’19, Zoe Light ’19, Averre Neff ’19, Nat Petty ’19, Mia Pretorius ’19, Grace Rieniets ’19, Maggie Robinson ’19, Evan Rork ’19, Ella Steinhilber ’19, Jake Wolfson ’19, Adam Wooten ’19
The society recognizes students who have distinguished themselves for academic excellence, which does not refer only to superior scholarly achievement but also to the qualities of dignity and honor in pursuit of those achievements.

Lois McMullan Scholarship: Victoria Christianson Galina ’20, Morgan Lewis ’20, Dabney Moore ’20
This scholarship is awarded to a select group of juniors who have demonstrated leadership in various areas of High School life and have a high potential for leading the school community during his or her senior year. Click here to read Director Vince Durnan's remarks.

National Merit Recognition
Finalists: Miles Bishop ’19, Basil Egli ’19, Annie French ’19, Clayton Jelsma ’19, Zoe Light ’19, Evan Rork ’19
Commended Scholar: Amanda Ding ’19
Hispanic Scholar: Clayton Jelsma ’19
This recognition and scholarships are earned through top scores on the PSAT.

Special Service Award: Head of High School Administrative Assistant Debbie Fulcher
Selected by the senior class, this award is given to a USN staff member who has significantly impacted the lives of students in the senior class.
Peggy Weil Steine ’37 Visual Arts Award: William Inman ’19
This honor is given to a graduating senior who has demonstrated consistent excellence in various elements of the visual arts program.

Robert K. Massie Award for World History: Neha Saggi
Robert K. Massie Award for American History: Lily Bartholomy-Tollbom
These prizes are awarded to a sophomore and a junior in recognition of their best-in-class research papers adjudicated by a panel of collegiate historians.

Outstanding Senior Award: Olivia Dossett ’19, Shirya Karam ’19, Ava Neff ’19
This honor is given to seniors who have made a substantive impact on the USN community.
Faculty Award: Rachel Becker ’19, George Corzine '19
An honor given to a senior who exemplifies the ideal USN student: cooperative, consistent in academic performance, sensitive to peers, willing to work with others, accepting of responsibility, eager to give to the school and the larger community, and involved in activities.
Tigers of the Year: Olivia Dossett '19, George Corzine '19, Joe Orem ’19
Selected by coaches, seniors are given this award for their contributions to the USN athletic program throughout their High School careers.
Bredesen Leadership Award: Sydney Stevenson ’19, Jake Wolfson ’19
This honor is given to seniors whose leadership on campus has most supported others in the school community and whose involvement in and commitment to the school community serves as a model for younger students.
Harry and Mary Zimmerman Memorial Award: Adam Wooten ’19
This honor recognizes the senior who most exemplifies the concern for others, the gentleness of spirit, the leadership by example, and the devotion to USN that characterized the lives and work of Harry and Mary Zimmerman.
Stanford Moore Memorial Award for Excellence: Annie French ’19
This honor is given to a senior who typifies the pursuit of excellence represented by Nobel Prize laureate and Peabody Demonstration Schoool alumnus Stanford Moore ’31. The recipient “approaches Dr. Moore’s academic achievement and dedication. In the century of the common man, the uncommon man and his accomplishments are too often overlooked. Recognition of the uncommon man is needed and an incentive to excellence is highly desirable.” Click here to read Director Vince Durnan's remarks, and click here to hear him sing Stanford's "Peabody Song."

Late night television host Conan O'Brien announced Sarah Manz '19 as the winner of the Leaky Pen Award through a video High School students watched during a brief Assembly on Tuesday, May 14. For 10 years, alumna Susan Yeagley '89 and her husband Kevin Nealon have invited students to write a comedic essay and have had their friends in Los Angeles judge submissions. Manz’s humorous letter to her future college roommate earned her a $1,000 prize.

Congratulate these students when you see them.

More USN News

List of 5 news stories.


University School of Nashville

2000 Edgehill Avenue   Nashville, TN 37212     615/321-8000     Contact Us